

# NEWS RELEASE – Lamont County Council Organizational Meeting (Oct. 17, 2022)

October 19, 2022 - LAMONT, AB: Lamont County Council completed its annual organizational meeting on October 17. The following are meeting highlights:

## Council Organizational Meeting (AGENDA):

- 1. Council elected its Reeve for 2022-23 (one-year term). Reeve David Diduck continues in this role - CARRIED.
  - Reeve Diduck: "There are lots of good things happening in Lamont County, as well as a few challenges to deal with. I look forward to working together with Council to work through these in the next year and continue the progress we have made."
- 2. Council elected Neil Woitas to commence his term as Deputy Reeve for 2022-23. Deputy Reeve Woitas: "I see this as a position of growth and am excited at the learning opportunity as I take on this role. With my background, I look forward to the five of us working together to make things happen for Lamont County." Councillor Anaka: "Thanks for the opportunity (four years as Deputy Reeve) and good luck to Neil (Woitas) in the Deputy Reeve position."
- 3. Council set up its annual council meeting schedule for 2022-23 (enclosure).
- 4. Council completed its routine resolutions for 2022-23 (meetings location, signing authority, financial institution, assessor, and auditor designations).
- 5. Council designated Deputy Reeve Neil Woitas as Chair of Agricultural Service Board, Councillor Daniel Warawa as Centennial Scholarship committee member, Deputy Reeve Neil Woitas as FCSS Board Member and Regional Emergency Advisory Committee member. Intermunicipal Collaboration Committee (ICC) and Intermunicipal Planning Commission (IPC) representation remains as presented.
- 6. Council reviewed and confirmed its committee appointments (enclosure).
- 7. Following the meeting, Council completed its annual road tour (with Public Works, Agricultural Services and leadership) to review specific initiatives and areas of focus across County divisions looking at recently installed culverts, road repairs, as well as agriculture and public works initiatives and projects planned for the coming year.

The public and media are invited to attend council and committee meetings in Council Chambers or virtually through Microsoft Teams (link available on the Lamont County website). Be advised that all meetings are recorded. Lamont County continues to follow public health recommendations and provincial mandates related to the COVID-19 pandemic—masks are an individual discretion.

Please note: the information above is considered unofficial content; official meeting minutes are posted on the Lamont County website once approved and signed off (after presentation for approval at the next council meeting). Additional content may be available in the approved meeting agendas.

Page **1** of **2** 

Administration Building

Next Council Meeting: November 7, 2022.

[Enclosure: Council meeting dates for 2022-23, Council designated board and committee membership, approved board and committee public members]

-30-

## Media inquiries can be directed to:

Jay Zaal Communications Coordinator 780-895-2233 Ext. 222 jay.z@lamontcounty.ca www.lamontcounty.ca/news

### **2022-23 Council Meeting Schedule** (subject to change)

November 7, 2022	March 14, 2023	June 27, 2023
November 22, 2022	March 28, 2023	August 8, 2023
December 13, 2022	April 11, 2023	August 22, 2023
January 10, 2023	April 25. 2023	September 12, 2023
January 24, 2023	May 9, 2023	September 26, 2023
February 14, 2023	May 23, 2023	October 10, 2023
February 28, 2023	June 13, 2023	October 24, 2023

#### 2022-23 Lamont County Council Board and Committee Representation (confirmed or updated)

- All other appointments continue as listed on the <u>Boards & Committees</u> page (https://www.lamontcounty.ca/governance/boards-committees).

Alberta Industrial Heartland Association – Reeve Diduck and Councillor Aaron Wick (alternate)

Alberta Hub – Councillor Warawa and Councillor Roy Anaka (alternate)

Beaver Hills Biosphere – Councillor Anaka and Councillor Wick (alternate)

Family and Community Support Services Board of Directors – Deputy Reeve Woitas and Councillor Warawa (alternate)

GoEast of Edmonton Board of Directors – Councillor Wick

Regional Emergency Management Advisory Committee – Deputy Reeve Woitas and Councillor Anaka (alternate)

St. Michael Solid Waste Commission – Reeve Diduck and Councillor Warawa (alternate)

Willingdon Seed Cleaning Cooperative – Councillor Anaka

Yellowhead Highway Association – Councillor Warawa and Councillor Wick (alternate)

Northern Lights Library Board and Lamont County Regional Library Board – Councillor Warawa and Reeve Diduck

Town of Lamont Library Board (Council representative) – Reeve Diduck

#### Public Board and Committee Members (approved Members at Large)

Appointed to the *Lamont County Regional Library Board*: L. Sabo, L. Berlin, A. Wendorff, C. Malica and A. Green for a 3-year term (Oct. 2025).

Page 2 of 2