

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – Lamont County Peace Officer Recognized for Years of Service

March 11, 2022 – LAMONT, AB: Earlier this month (in February) Lamont County Community Peace Officer (CPO), Derek Wright was presented an award from Alberta's Lieutenant Governor, Salma Lakhani, on behalf of the Queen.

The Alberta Emergency Services Medal was awarded to him for 12 years of frontline service to Albertans in a first responder role.

"This is excellent recognition complementing Derek's work as CPO and the service he brings to our province and community," said Peter Tarnawsky, Lamont County's Chief Administrative Officer. "We are proud of his accomplishment and recognize the significance of a medal presented by the Lieutenant Governor."

As a County employee for more than three years, Derek has displayed his CPO and Canadian Forces Military Police experience from various policing roles over 28+ years (including international deployments in Afghanistan, Egypt, Haiti and Bosnia). His past service has included secondments to Canadian Embassies of Syria and Afghanistan—and allows him to bring this experience to day-to-day operations as Lamont County's CPO.

"Meeting the Lieutenant Governor was a high point of the conference," said Wright. "I am honoured to receive this medal from the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta and to represent Lamont County. I look forward to continuing first responder service in our County."

Congratulations to Derek!

-30-

[Photos Attached – enclosure]

Media inquiries can be directed to: Jay Zaal Communications Coordinator 780-895-2233 Ext. 222 jay.z@lamontcounty.ca www.lamontcounty.ca/news

Page 1 of 2

Administration Building 5303 – 50th Avenue Lamont, Alberta TOB 2R0 www.lamontcounty.ca



Telephone: Fax: Toll Free: Email: 780–895-2233 780-895-7404 877-895-2233 info@lamontcounty.ca Photo #1 – Lamont County CPO Derek Wright presented at the Alberta Association of Community Peace Officers (AACPO) Conference on Feb. 6-11, 2022. Pictured (L-R): CPO1 Derek Wright, Her Honour, Lieutenant Governor of Alberta, Salma Lakhani, and Sgt. Terry Miller (AACPO President).



Photo #2 – The Alberta Emergency Services Medal awarded to Lamont County CPO Derek Wright.

